Moët British Independent Film Awards 2011

Mimi ON Nov 01, 2011 AT 11:47 am

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Exciting news for all you film buffs out there! Yesterday the nominees for the 14th annual Moët British Independent Film Awards were announced, and it looks like there’s going to be some tough competition this year. Leading the pack of nominees are the movies Shame, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, and Tyrannosaur, which each received 7 nominations, followed by We Need To Talk About Kevin and Kill List with 6 nods, and Submarine with 5 nominations. Shame, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Tyrannosaur, We Need To Talk About Kevin, and Senna will be competing against each other for the highly coveted Best British Independent Film Award.

Steve McQueen (Shame), Ben Wheatley (Kill List), Tomas Alfredson (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), Paddy Considine (Tyrannosaur), and Lynne Ramsay (We Need To Talk About Kevin) are in the running for Best Director, while the Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director will be given to either Joe Cornish (Attack The Block), Ralph Fiennes (Coriolanus), John Michael McDonagh (The Guard), Richard Ayoade (Submarine), or Paddy Considine. All have received such strong praise for their exceptional films, so it’s not going to be an easy call as to who will win.

Carey Mulligan and Michael Fassbender in Shame

Carey Mulligan and Michael Fassbender in Shame

As for the highly anticipated Best Actor category, we have Brendan Gleeson (The Guard), Neil Maskell (Kill List), Michael Fassbender (Shame), Gary Oldman (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), and Peter Mullan (Tyrannosaur). Will the young and ever-so-popular Fassbender be able to win against some of the film industry’s most well-respected acting veterans? No doubt Fassbender has won the hearts of the movie public, and more specifically the hearts of women everywhere (ours included!), but will his performance as a sex-addict in Steve McQueen’s Shame be able to take on Oldman’s Oscar worthy portrayal of Cold War espionage veteran, George Smiley? Maybe Gleeson’s hilarious performance as an unorthodox Irish policeman in John Michael McDonagh’s comedy, The Guard, will be enough to take home the coveted prize, or Neil Maskell’s role as a hitman in Ben Wheatley’s horror/thriller, Kill List. Peter Mullan’s performance in Tyrannosaur as a violent man who’s on the path of self-destruction when he gets a chance of redemption in the form of a Christian charity shop worker has also been highly praised, making this category a toss up.

As for the Best Actress category, it’s no surprise that Rebecca Hall (The Awakening), Mia Wasikowska (Jane Eyre), MyAnna Buring (Kill List), Olivia Colman (Tyrannosaur), and Tilda Swinton (We Need To Talk About Kevin) have received nods for their brilliant performances in some of this year’s most recognized films. Wasikowska was the perfect embodiment of one of literature’s most beloved characters in Jane Eyre, while Swinton’s performance in We Need To Talk About Kevin has been deemed her best role yet. Director Ben Wheatley wrote the part of Shel in his film, Kill List, specifically for MyAnna Buring, resulting in a spot on, brilliant performance from the young Swedish actress. Rebecca Hall, who is best known for her starring role as Vicky in Woody Allen’s Vicky Christina Barcelona, has received the nod for her exceptional portrayal of 1920’s hoax exposer, Florence Cathcart, in Nick Murphy’s thriller, The Awakening. Olivia Colman plays Hannah, a Christian charity shop worker, opposite Peter Mullan in Paddy Considine’s Tyrannosaur, and as an abused wife who is then verbally belittled by Mullan’s troubled character, a lot was required from this talented actress, but critics have agreed that Colman’s performance delivers.

Rebecca Hall in The Awakening

Rebecca Hall in The Awakening

The Moët British Independent Film Awards will take place Sunday 4th December at Old Billingsgate in Central London, and for the first time ever, the ceremony will be streamed live online at

Best British Independent Film: Sponsored by Moët & Chandon

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Director: Sponsored by The Creative Partnership

Ben Wheatley – Kill List
Steve Mcqueen – Shame
Tomas Alfredson – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Paddy Considine – Tyrannosaur
Lynne Ramsay – We Need To Talk About Kevin

The Douglas Hickox Award [Best Debut Director]: Sponsored by 3 Mills Studios

Joe Cornish – Attack The Block
Ralph Fiennes – Coriolanus
John Michael Mcdonagh – The Guard
Richard Ayoade – Submarine
Paddy Considine – Tyrannosaur

Best Screenplay: Sponsored by BBC Films

John Michael Mcdonagh – The Guard
Ben Wheatley, Amy Jump – Kill List
Abi Morgan, Steve Mcqueen – Shame
Richard Ayoade – Submarine
Lynne Ramsay, Rory Kinnear – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Actress: Sponsored by M.A.C

Rebecca Hall – The Awakening
Mia Wasikowska – Jane Eyre
Myanna Buring – Kill List
Olivia Colman – Tyrannosaur
Tilda Swinton – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Actor

Brendan Gleeson – The Guard
Neil Maskell – Kill List
Michael Fassbender – Shame
Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Peter Mullan – Tyrannosaur

Best Supporting Actress

Felicity Jones – Albatross
Vanessa Redgrave – Coriolanus
Carey Mulligan – Shame
Sally Hawkins – Submarine
Kathy Burke – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Supporting Actor

Michael Smiley – Kill List
Tom Hardy – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Benedict Cumberbatch – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Eddie Marsan – Tyrannosaur
Ezra Miller – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Most Promising Newcomer: Sponsored by STUDIOCANAL

Jessica Brown Findlay – Albatross
John Boyega – Attack The Block
Craig Roberts – Submarine
Yasmin Paige – Submarine
Tom Cullen – Weekend

Best Achievement In Production: Sponsored by Deluxe142

Kill List
Wild Bill
You Instead

Best Technical Achievement

Chris King, Gregers Sall – Editing – Senna
Sean Bobbitt – Cinematography – Shame
Joe Walker – Editing – Shame
Maria Djurkovic – Production Design – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Seamus Mcgarvey – Cinematography – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Documentary

Hell And Back Again
Life In A Day
Project Nim
Tt3D: Closer To The Edge

Best British Short

Love At First Sight
Rough Skin

Best Foreign Independent Film

Animal Kingdom
A Separation
The Skin I Live In

The Raindance Award: Sponsored by Exile Media

Acts Of Godfrey
Black Pond
Leaving Baghdad
A Thousand Kisses Deep

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments are closed.