First Listen: Great Gatsby Full Tracks from Lana Del Rey & Fergie

BATD ON Apr 24, 2013 AT 6:37 am

Lana Del Rey's Young & Beautiful

Lana Del Rey’s Young & Beautiful

The Great Gatsby is one of the most anticipated movies of spring 2013. Directed by Baz Luhrman (Romeo + Juliet, Moulin Rouge), the film has an all-star cast lined up with Leonardo Dicaprio as Gatsby, Michelle Williams as Daisy Buchanon, and Tobey Maguire as Nick.

Based on the fantastic movie scores of Luhrman’s past films, there is no doubt that The Great Gatsby will have an equally fantastic score to accompany the film adaptation of one of America’s greatest pieces of literature. Romeo + Juliet included Radiohead and the score complemented the storyline in a way that made it more than just background music. Luhrman  emphasized the importance that music will play in the film adaptation of The Great Gatsby when saying,

‘F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel is peppered with contemporary music references specific to the story’s setting of 1922. While we acknowledge, as Fitzgerald phrased it, ‘the Jazz Age,’ and this is the period represented on screen, we–our audience–are living in the ‘hip hop age’ and want our viewers to feel the impact of modern-day music the way Fitzgerald did for the readers of his novel at the time of its publication.’

The soundtrack includes artists such as Jack White, The xx, Lana Del Rey, Beyoncé, Florence and the Machine, Andre 3000, and Jay Z. Sean ‘Jay Z’ Carter is an executive producer on the film and will no doubt bring a taste of hip-hop to the film about extravagance and luxury in a 1920′s setting. Unique music collaborations include Fergie + Q Tip & Goonrock, and Beyoncé + Andre 3000. Check out the list below with two full length tracks included. Get excited for the full release of the soundtrack available for pre-order 23 April. 


1. Bang Bang – (0:01)
2. Full track: A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) – Fergie, Q Tip & GoonRock

3. Full track: Young And Beautiful – Lana Del Rey

4. Love Is The Drug – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (1:32)
5. Over The Love – Florence & The Machine (2:03)
6. Where The Wind Blows – Coco O. of Quadron (2:33)
7. Crazy in Love – Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (3:04)
8. Together – The xx (3:34)
9. Hearts A Mess – Gotye (4:06)
10. Love Is Blindness – Jack White (4:35)
11. Into the Past – Nero (5:06)
12. Kill and Run – Sia (5:36)



And if that didn’t get you excited enough for the movie, then here are two of the film’s trailers… May 17th come faster!!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments are closed.