CFDA Awards 2013

BATD ON Jun 03, 2013 AT 9:57 am

Skip the post-work drinks (alcohol on a Monday! tut tut!) and rush home to your TV instead because the highly anticipated 2013 CFDA awards are being held this evening. The awards will be honouring some of the most impressive risk-takers and trailblazers of the fashion world.

Former Secretary of State and First Lady, Hillary Clinton, will present the CFDA Founder’s Award to Oscar de la Renta, while notorious designer, Vera Wang, is set to receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. We’re not surprised given Wang’s everlasting clutch of the bridal market “You don’t alter Vera to fit you, you alter yourself to fit Vera!” and her lust worthy ready-to-wear line.

Collecting the Media Award is fashion writer extraordinaire Tim Blanks, while the International Award will go to Givenchy’s Riccardo Tisci. Edward Scissorhands and Silence of the Lambs costume designer, Colleen Atwood, will be receiving the Tribute Award for her Oscar-winning designs.


Vera Wang is set to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s CFDA awards.

A number of other industry icons are set to be recognized as well. Here is breakdown of the nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Alexander Wang

Proenza Schouler

Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Steven Cox & Daniel Silver of Duckie Brown

Michael Bastian

Thom Browne

Accessory Designer of the Year:

Phillip Lim

Alexander Wang

Proenza Schouler

The winners, determined by popular vote from the fashion community,  will be announced at tonight’s ceremony. Good luck, everyone!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments are closed.